An Experiment with Art


Church Photo

Kenmare Chuch photograph

Over the last few days, I’ve been experimenting with watercolours and stencils to see if I could create a watercolour painting with a slight abstract look.

I started by taking photos of the church in Kenmare, and used one where the building wasn’t obscured by the trees. Then, I turned the photo’s contrast up on the computer and printed out a black and white image onto card to make a stencil out of. I cut out the stencil and used a sponge to dab watercolours through the stencil.

It took a few attempts but I managed to get my first clean image of the church. The trees were painted freehand but it didn’t look quite right. I made another final painting, tidying up the trees a little. In the final painting I moved the tree in front of the church in the photograph to the back. The picture looked good, but there were a few small mistakes, such as one of the windows in the wrong position.

First successful painting of Kenmare church

   It took a few attempts but I managed to get my first clean image of the church. The trees were painted freehand but it didn’t look quite right.

   I made another final painting, tidying up the trees a little. In the final painting I moved the tree in front of the church in the photograph to the back. The picture looked good, but there were a few small mistakes, such as one of the windows in the wrong position.

   It was just a small project and it was interesting to create a painting that could be repeated again and again, but unfortunately the stencil has started falling apart because of the water content in the paint.

Final painting of Church

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Experimental, Painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice work Dan, and a great webpage too!

  2. Nice technique! I really like the first one, it has a nice print-like quality to it.

  1. Pingback: The 100th Post | The Art Frog

Your opinion matters!

