Eyesore 2012


Just a quick post. I’ve had a work of art displayed at the Eyesore 2012 Exhibition at the Cul Fadda ghost estate in Sneem. It was set up by an artist named Jochen Gersz, who got over 50 students (from Pobal Scoil Inbhear Sceine, Kenmare) to paint works of art based on the theme; “Where is the Celtic Tiger now?”.  The paintings were painted onto wooden panels and then fitted into the windows of the ghost estate, and varnished to protect the paint from wind and rain.

I don’t have any photos of it at present, but my the work I painted is of a tiger watching television. It is a comment on the way we see the tiger; that the tiger is not dead, just given up on, and that with the right attitudes we can help bring the Celtic Tiger boom back to Ireland. I thought that the concept behind my picture is good, but the actual painting looks very amateur, and as a result I’ve been really working on my painting techniques and style, practising with watercolours at the moment.

I have put a link up to an article on the exhibition here, but a lot of pictures are not shown and it is difficult to appreciate the true beauty of the Eyesore 2012 without viewing it as a whole.

Posted on June 30, 2012, in Announcement and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your opinion matters!

