Froggy Explorer


Frog bookmark 8

Frog bookmark No. 8

This is my newest bookmark. It is the second ‘close-up’ frog bookmark. I wanted to create something that was very simple with a slight abstract feel to it.

It depicts a frog exploring its jungle surroundings, almost mirroring my creative process; exploring the jungle of my mind. At first, I didn’t know what I was going to paint. I just started by drawing the eye and left it to dry. Then I worked around it, adding the hand and then the leaves, leaving each new addition to dry before moving on to the next part. I might add something to the small bit of background, but I’ll leave it until I’ve figured out what would work. I thought leaving it blank gives it a slightly modern feel, but I really want to do something with it.

I’ve already started creating my next bookmark using pointillism. I’ve never tried the technique before and wanted to give it a go. I’m trying to make it similar to those Ishihara color tests for colour blind people, and although it takes a lot of patience, it’s a lot of fun! I’ll include a picture of the finished pointillism bookmark in my next post, so stay tuned!

Posted on August 3, 2012, in Artistic Bookmark, Painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your opinion matters!

