Experiment in Pointillism


Frog Bookmark 9

Frog Bookmark No. 9

Today, I’ve decided to set myself the challenge of writing an entire post without using the ‘f’ word. That’s right, over 250 words with using that noun we use for green amphibians. If you read the last post, you’d know this post is about one of my first attempts at pointillism.

Pointillism is a technique that I’ve never used before and wanted to try it. It takes a lot of time to paint each minutely small dot, but it’s a lot of fun and the results are great! To your left is a picture of my first bookmark to include this technique with a picture of a fr… newt’s relative. I decided I wanted to mimic the style of the Ishihara color tests simply because I like the way they look. It took me a few attempts to get it right, but this is my first finished piece with pointillism.

Like all my previous… amphibian bookmarks, I’ve used watercolours on a thin strip of card. When painting the cold-blooded creature I put a small coin around where the eye would go and carefully painted each green dot. Then I removed the coin and painted the eye, followed by the rest of the head. Then I added the legs of the not-a-toad, and then his orange feet.

Since I based the green hoppy thing on the one from my previous bookmark I decided to use the same white background, but again I may come back to these and add some more colour. The white background might suit this bookmark more though, with colour against the lack of colour to create contrast, a little like the spot paintings of Damien Hirst.

As always, comments and feedback are much appreciated. And I can’t believe I got through the whole post without saying the word frog! (Oops)

Posted on August 5, 2012, in Artistic Bookmark, Painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. re0cartaoprechbin1979

    Reblogged this on Juan Peters Site.

Your opinion matters!

