Lucy R.I.P.


Painting of Lucy

Painting of Lucy

Sorry that I haven’t posted any new bookmarks for a short while, but I haven’t had any time to create any. On Sunday morning, Lucy (the wonderful subject for two of my paintings), fell ill and meowed with immense pain. I stayed with her as my parents had planned to go out to Killarney, and took care of her as she struggled more and more to move. She screeched and meowed in agony, eventually being in so much pain that her meows became desperate whispers. When my parents came back they immediately took her to the vet, but she didn’t make it. She died on Sunday evening of a tumour that had curled around her stomach. I only have two paintings of her, made when she was alive. Any further paintings I may paint of her will be nothing more than ghosts; created purely from photographs rather than the cat herself.

Lucy

Lucy ‘Singing’

Lucy was a wonderful cat. She was very patient with people (except when it came to food) and would meow in tune when someone whistled. She followed people around the house. She jumped into tiny spaces on shelves or cupboards. She would cover her eyes with both her paws, crossed, when she slept sometimes, and would twitch in her sleep when you said the word cat. She was a very cute cat and everyone loved her. R.I.P. Lucy (2000 – 2012)

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Announcement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So sorry to hear about Lucy 😦
    Stew.

  2. I’m very sorry to hear about your cat. It’s always tough when you lose a pet so suddenly. The way you describe her, she seems like an absolute character, at least you have your memories and wonderful paintings/pictures of her to remind you of this.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your Lucy. She sounds very special and unique. I’m glad to hear you do have a few paintings to commemorate her.

    • At least I painted her picture before she went. I had a few drawings but I can’t find the sketchpad I drew them in, but I’ll keep looking. Thank you!

Your opinion matters!

