Illuminated Night


Bookmark No. 12

Bookmark No. 12

This is another short post, concerning my 12th bookmark.

Like the other two acrylic bookmarks, it was painted on a black background. I find that using a dark background, as opposed to the standard white canvas, makes it much easier in creating cloudier pictures.

I tried to make the mountains look similar to the ones in my 11th bookmark because I wanted to create a calmer version of that scene in today’s work. You will notice that the mountains are much darker in this work, almost like silhouettes against the cloudy night sky.

To capture the stillness of the lake, I painted blurry, distorted reflections of the clouds. The reflections in the lake are a bit too blurry and look a little too much like waves, but I have gotten much better at painting the actual clouds. I added a little touch of blue to the clouds to make them appear more colourful and harmonious with their surroundings.

I think I’ve done well today, but as always, I can learn from my mistakes and I’ll have to practise my water reflections a bit more. Comments are appreciated and thanks for reading!

Posted on August 20, 2012, in Artistic Bookmark, Painting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Is there any way I can see more of your work and buy your bookmarks? I recently received a painted canvas bookmark as a gift and have become obsessed with the idea.

    • Hi Natalie! I’m not currently selling any work, but if you’d like to send me an email (see my contact page) I can send a reply with the image files for the bookmarks that you’d like, so you can print them at home. 🙂

  2. This is really beautiful! I can really feel the atmosphere of the place.

Your opinion matters!

