The Forgotten Ones


First Pointillism

My First Pointillism Attempt

I’ve really forgotten just how busy school can be. It can be fairly difficult finding time to focus on painting when hours of lessons, study and homework occupy your time. To counter these time constraints, I could easily paint quick, meaningless pictures to post on my site, but that would take the fun out of the whole thing. A true painting, regardless of the artist’s skills, should take as much time as the artist feels is necessary before it is a masterpiece. Other people may not see it as a masterpiece, but to the artist, the painting has a truth and meaning to it; a sense of achievement.

Then, there are those abandoned paintings. Experiments. Unfinished ones with no future. Those that an artist deemed unworthy and cast away. They are either consigned to the rubbish bin or shoved to one side of a disorganised desk, and then they are lost among random piles of paper, usually never to be seen again.

Today, a small trimmed piece of card looked up at me from underneath a dusty old book.

I was painting something new at the time, but the small eyes of the a damaged bookmark looked longingly up at me, and instead of posting a new work, I thought today I’d dedicate a post to remember the forgotten old paintings that were never truly appreciated.

In some ways, they’re the artist’s best works. They may not look like much, but without practising one’s skills and failing, one cannot hope to learn.

Frog Bookmark 9

Frog Bookmark No. 9

The ex-bookmark I’ve posted today was one of my practise paintings when I was trying to paint something for my pointillism post. Unlike the bookmark to your right (my first finished pointillism bookmark), the above picture is untidy, uneven and unbalanced. It is messy. Most artists only display their best works because for them, their average works are ugly. Not many people would want an amateur picture or unfinished painting either. But today I hope to save one forgotten picture from its fate. There is something beautiful about this frog bookmark. The points are applied randomly within certain designated areas. They are spaced too far apart from each other. It is only a preparatory piece, yet today, maybe only for a few short minutes, this abandoned frog earns stardom.

So I’d like to end today’s post by asking all you artists out there, to look back at your old works and remember them. I ask all writers to remember their worst first drafts; all musicians to remember those lyrics that you thought didn’t work; all photographers to remember those hundreds of pictures you may have deleted because they ‘didn’t look right’. Look back on those forgotten ones, because without them, you wouldn’t be where you are today!

Posted on September 2, 2012, in Announcement, Article, Artistic Bookmark, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hi Daniel, I love your art and believe you have great talent so I’m nominating you for the “Lovely Blogger Award”. Mostly because I want to share your art with my friends. Jen
    http://jiltaroo.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/my-first-award/

    • Thank you very much Jen! I feel honoured that you’ve nominated me and I responded as quickly as I could, and you can see the new award on my awards page. I’m very very happy that you appreciate my artwork! Thanks once again!
      Daniel

  2. From my POINT of view it looks amazing. You’re too hard on yourself. I love it!

    • I guess I am, but I can be a bit of a perfectionist. 🙂 Thanks for you’re kind words!

      • Yes sometimes it’s better to take a photo and look at it from a more detached point of view…but I guess you did that. Did you like it better then?

        • I thought it was going well until I made a mistake which led to a mess on the top half of the bookmark. I trimmed off the mistake and was left with more of a business-card than a bookmark. Anyway, to answer you’re question, when I saw it again recently I did like it better! 🙂

  3. Ah, yes, the abandoned attempts…
    To qualify as pointillism, shouldn’t the green be made up of blue and yellow dots? I thought the point of the pointillist movement was to show colours as optical mix of pure colours?

    • That’s a very good point (no pun intended). Perhaps in bigger works I’d use blue and yellow dots, but when you’re working with something that can just about fit in the palm of you’re hand it can be very difficult to achieve that merging of colours on such a small scale. 🙂

Your opinion matters!

