Haunted Lake


Today’s painting was going to be a nice happy lakeside scene, but as I progressed through the painting, it slowly changed into something more dark. A seemingly dead tree overlooks a strangely still lake. The proportions of the tree are wrong, the horizon is at a slight angle and the reflections in the lake don’t seem to belong there; all providing an eerie atmosphere to the painting.

Haunted Lake

I think I’m really getting the hang of clouds now, but the tree definitely looks a bit odd. When I finished painting the tree, I changed the reflection in the lake so that it didn’t match the sky, to provide a slightly surreal, eerie feeling to the painting.

I experimented with a circular border for the painting. I put circular lid on the painting and used black spray paint to create the ‘frame’ for the painting. The border is full of imperfections and some of it got smudged into the painting, so I’ll have to find another way of creating one next time I decide to use the technique.

Like my past few paintings, I’ve used acrylics on card. I’ve been posting an awful lot of bookmarks and not many actual paintings, so I thought it best if I put up something other than a bookmark for a change. This painting is about 14.8 cm by 15 cm (5.83 inches by 5.91 inches) in size, while my bookmarks are usually around 13 cm long.

I’d love to hear your thoughts are on the painting. What you liked, or disliked, about it.

What does it makes you think of? How does it make you feel?

Posted on September 29, 2012, in Experimental, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The clouds in this painting and watercolor wash is what attracted me to this painting. My only suggestions is perhaps one of the inner tree limbs needs more definiton. I really like the shape of this tree and the colors. PS: This is just my observation.

    • I agree; the tree does lack the detail I should’ve put into it, but on the bright side it’s just another mistake to learn from. I’m glad you liked the clouds.

  2. Don’t worry, you’re doing art …
    … and people like it. 🙂

Your opinion matters!

