Hoppy Halloween!


Halloween Bookmark

Halloween Bookmark

Here it is… my Halloween bookmark! Some of the black paint was quite glossy, so it didn’t show up as well on the scanner, but it doesn’t look too different. It is very similar to my Illuminated Night bookmark, and a lot of the techniques are similar. And as promised, I’ve included a frog!

The bookmark depicts a frog watching the dark sky as a witch on a broomstick flies past, over a misty mountain range. The witch didn’t come up so well on the scanner, looking more a pale brown colour than a pure black.

I actually painted three paintings before deciding which one to post, and I settled on this bookmark. I initially created a bloody frog, but it just didn’t work out, so I painted a mysterious yellow eyed frog over the top of it. I don’t think the ghost frog picture (below) worked out so well, but you might like it, so I posted it anyway.

Halloween is that one time of the year where we face the things we fear, or would fear if they existed. Both children and adults dress in costumes, skeletons and cobwebs line shop windows and pumpkins with twisted smiles illuminate our living rooms.

Apparently, the Celts believed that on Samhain (Halloween), the borders between this earth and the Spirit-world became weak. This allowed spirits to enter into our world; the family’s ancestors were revered and invited home while dangerous spirits were warded off. Celts wore costumes and masks, as they believed that it would disguise them as spirits and ward off the harmful spirits. They did this to avoid harm from these bad spirits, but it’s interesting how much has changed (or rather, not changed) since those times.

So to all you readers out there, I hope you enjoy my pictures and I wish you a very happy (and spooky) Halloween!

Ghostly Frog

Ghostly Frog

Posted on October 29, 2012, in Artistic Bookmark, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Will you wear your tricorne this night?

  2. Love them!! Do you ever sell any of your work??

    • If you’d like to send me an email with a list of the bookmarks you want, I can send an email with the image files for the bookmarks that you’d like, so you can print them at home as gifts, but so far I haven’t organised any way of selling them yet. When my bookmarks are of a high enough standard, I was going to make duplicates of them, laminate them and sell the duplicates, but I’ve still got a long way to go before I can start selling them.

  3. love them both but my favorite is the ghostly frog. Very well done!

Your opinion matters!

