One Thousand Cranes


I’ve always wanted to learn how to fold origami cranes. Every time I tried to, however, I would fail disastrously.

Recently I learned how to fold origami cranes properly, and I was so excited that I made another one… and another. I got to about five before looking up more ways of making origami cranes.

During that time I stumbled across an intriguing Japanese legend. It states that whosoever folds one thousand cranes (collectively known as a Senbazuru) within a year will be granted a wish and eternal good luck. Inspired by the legend, and with just enough superstition to believe in such things, I’ve taken up the challenge of folding 1000 paper cranes by myself. In the space of a day I had gone from being completely clueless on how to make origami, to embarking on a quest to make a lot of origami.

Cranes Photo2

I began on the 28th of October with five cranes. Today, I’ve got about 80 cranes on strings; I’ve sewn them together in groups of 40, and I just need to make another 23 groups of cranes to reach my goal.

If I include the ones that have not been sewn together, I’ve made over 100 cranes! Of course, I’ve had plenty of time to make cranes during the Halloween break, and I won’t be able to fold as many of them once I get back into my school routine.

Thousand Cranes photo3

I understand the immense scale of the project I am undertaking, and know that it won’t be easy, but I will eventually complete it. Unlike other pastimes, folding a crane only takes five minutes, so even if I’m waiting for the bus, I can contribute one more origami sculpture to my Senbazuru. And it’s surprisingly calming and therapeutic.

A lot of people who do take up this craft do it encourage the recovery of patients or victims of natural disaster, or as a wedding gift. However I’ve chosen to fold the cranes for a simple wish. (Unfortunately I can’t tell you what it is, otherwise it may not come true!) So, I leave you with this thought…

If you could wish for one thing, anything at all, what would it be?

Posted on November 4, 2012, in Announcement, Craft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love it! I ‘ve never heard of the 1000 crane legend, though I’ve loved to fold them since I was a little girl.
    I’ve actually started a project called ‘Paper Travellers’ where I fold a crane and write a message on him and leave him on train. I’ve had an email back from someone who found one on a train and looked at my website with my art on…
    I hope it takes off, and good luck with the remaining 23 strands!

    • Progress has been slow lately, but there’s no hurry.
      I love your idea of leaving notes on trains! Imagine if a famous singer or film star or politician found it, perhaps they have already, but that’s where the mystery lies I guess. 🙂

Your opinion matters!

