Silhouette Cogs and Paper Cranes


Envelope

Front

I wanted to create something good to post last weekend, but none of my paintings seemed to work out, so I decided to create else.

Most envelopes you find are dull and bland, usually wither white or one solid colour. I wanted to change this…

I made this envelope by spraying black aerosol paint onto an A4 sheet, using a plastic gear to create a silhouette effect. It started off as a piece of paper that I had no idea what to do with. Then I folded it in half stared at it for a few minutes before folding the sides inwards as I started to make an envelope. I used scissors to cut away the excess paper. I sealed the inward sides together with sellotape, in such a way that it can’t be seen on the outside of the envelope.

Envelope

Back

I know it has it’s faults, for example, the blob of paint in the top right corner of the back, and I feel I should have used more gears around the edges, but for an experimental work, it turned out okay. I wonder what you’ll make of it.

I had most of this post typed up yesterday, but forgot to post it so I apologise for that. I should also apologise for the lack of frogs, despite what I said in previous posts. There will definitely have to be frogs in next weekend’s paintings, and so there shall be.

Also, to update you on my crane project, I’m up to 120 cranes now! That’s over a tenth of the way there, and to celebrate, here’s a photograph of my three gatherings of 40 cranes…

Crane Update

Crane Update

Posted on November 13, 2012, in Craft, Experimental and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your opinion matters!

