Once Upon a Memory


This small painting was inspired by the view I saw from a bus window, heading home.

Just Before Sunset

*  *  *

The sun had just set, and the sky was a blend of red, yellow and dark blue.

The stars are still sleeping, waiting until the last bit of light fades to make their entrance.

*  *  *

I decided to try some new techniques for the reflections in this painting, but they didn’t work out as well as some of my previous pictures. The trees in the right foreground may need a bit more detail, but I’m happy with the rest of the painting.

I also decided to keep this post fairly short, partially because I don’t want to distract too much from the painting above, but also because it’s hard to write/type properly with a cold (The winter season has definitely arrived!).

As always, I’m curious to know what you make of my picture. It was fairly experimental and I’d love to know what worked and what didn’t, in your opinion. I’d like to leave you with a question…

Is there a moment that you wish you could relive, even if it was for a few seconds?

Posted on December 2, 2012, in Experimental, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is awesome work Daniel!
    Wonderful contrasts and I like the fluffy clouds which came out very well, correctly tinted.

    Yes the reflections have been better in your previous works but this is still pretty good.

    I like the overall effect of it. Very balanced and eye-catching!

    The answer to your question is that No, there isn’t!
    Not because I haven’t had remarkable moments in my life, but because I wouldn’t want to interfere with the memory or make it less special by re-living it.

    Instead, I’d want to make each living moment of the “present” so remarkable as to become a wonderful cherished memory for future : )

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Awesome painting! I love the clouds in the upper left hand corner, and the evergreen trees on the middle of the right edge.

Your opinion matters!

