Christmas is Coming Closer!


With Christmas drawing closer, an appointment with a doctor, and moving from Higher to Ordinary level Maths in school, as well as everything else that goes on in my life, I have completely forgotten to post last week, and I apologise to all the dedicated followers of my blog. The last few week has been quite busy, and it feels good to be back in the blogopshere.

Card

A fairly Christmas-sy Birthday Card

I will be going to abroad for Christmas to meet up with friends and relatives, so it is likely that there will be a further absence of posts, but I’ll try my best to keep to the schedule after the New Year.

Anyhow, the picture to your right is the front of a birthday card I made for my mother. Since winter has arrived, I thought a good snowy scene would make for a nice card. In real life it is a lot brighter, but the scanner seems to darken most of my paintings.

I used a few more new and experimental techniques in this painting. For example, the trees were painted in a zig-zag motion that I learned from watching an episode of ‘the Joy of Painting’. Bob Ross has been a major influence on me and my paintings, and you might see a few similarities between some of my works and his, where I’ve borrowed techniques and mixed them with my own.

As a young, learning artist, I find it very important to learn from other artists and try to pick up new skills from them. However, I feel that it’s important that you do not copy the artist’s techniques completely, but instead try to practice them by adding them to your already existing artistic skills.

Frank Clarke and Bob Ross are the two main inspirations for my painting style of landscapes, and they have given me the tips and the confidence I need for landscape painting. But I think I’ll move on a bit with my next few paintings.

Now that I feel fairly confident at painting natural scenes, I should focus on different scenes. Maybe buildings, people, or completely abstract concepts. Or maybe I should paint a lot more frogs. In fact, I will definitely have to paint a lot more frogs!

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your opinion matters!

