Preposterous Prophecies and Christmas Canvases


A Baktun is a period of time that lasts about 394 years at a time, and this year’s solstice marked the end of the 13th Baktun of the Mayan Calendar.

A lot of people said the world would end. And a lot of people were making jokes like there was no tomorrow.

Perhaps the world actually was supposed to end. But maybe some the Mayan gods forgot about it. Or maybe their flight just got cancelled.

Whatever happened, we’re still here. Considering the Mayans couldn’t even predict the end of their own civilisation, so I’m not too surprised, but at least that means I can post the last post of the year!

Since I’m busy packing my belongings away as I prepare to go away for the holidays, I’ll have to make this post quite short.

The photos below are a few of the finished paintings, created as gifts for my family. They were each painted with acrylics, taking about an hour to make each one. I decided to paint two Christmas-themed paintings, and two landscape paintings.

Working with stretched canvas was much easier than I thought it would be. The card I used to paint bookmarks on would fall apart of tear with excess paint or water, but these problems don’t exist with the canvas, so I don’t have to be careful about pressing too hard with the brush. Blending colours together was easier because of this, and I felt more confident about painting onto the canvas.

I won’t be posting until a few days after the New Year, so I hope you enjoy the photos below, and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!!

Christmas canvas 2

Christmas canvas 3

Christmas canvas 1

Christmas canvas 4

Posted on December 22, 2012, in Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love them!! Especially the first one. You need to make them available to buy 🙂 Merry Christmas!

Your opinion matters!

