My Artistic Workspace


I’ve had the Leaving Cert. mock exams over the last week and a bit, so I had to study, leaving little time for my blog. I don’t have any more exams until after Easter, so I think it’ll be easier from now on to stick to my blogging schedule.

I display paintings a lot on this blog, but I don’t think I’ve ever shown you the tools I use to create my works. I’ve recently tidied my (very messy) room, so all my art supplies are now organised instead of being scattered around the place.

Here’s a couple of pictures of my new artistic workspace:

STA40635

I didn’t have enough room to store my paints and brushes in the drawers, so I had to build a makeshift shelf, using a large piece of wood, a tin can, lego and some jenga blocks! I’ve put my paints where I can get to them the easiest, and the pencils, sellotape and various other things are kept under the shelves. I tried to take a close up photo of the brushes I use, but my photography skills aren’t the best. Naturally, a frog looks after my brushes when they’re not in use.
STA40637

The cans on the left are acrylic spray paints and varnish spray. In the jar, between the oils and acrylics, are some sketching pens and two palette knives. Underneath the makeshift shelf are some pastels and charcoal.

Also, as I promised in my last post, I’ve posted the paintings that I thought didn’t work out so well:

small canvas 2

small canvas 1

small canvas 3

I kept them so I could add to them at a later date if I can decide what to put on them; maybe they’re just unfinished for now. I’m starting to think that I really need to move on from landscapes, to try something new. Perhaps I will go back to concentrating solely on frogs for a while. I said I would move on just before Christmas, but I have a bad habit of procrastinating. I’ve decided that I will not include another landscape in my next post. I don’t have a clue what I am going to paint, but I think I’ll start just start painting on the canvas and see where the brush takes me.

Posted on February 11, 2013, in Announcement, Article, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Your opinion matters!

