Exhibition Work-in-progress


Since last week was my birthday, I completely forgot to post, but I have received various new brushes and art supplies including a new easel, so I can now work on much bigger canvases!!

My most recent work is too big to scan, so I tried to take a photo of it. I hope it is clear enough for you to see properly:

ShipThis work-in-progress is an acrylic painting of a ship sailing through the vast night skies. It is for an exhibition that our school’s art class is participating in, and for the painting I had to choose one of four passages of text and take an idea from it and expand it. I was chose one about a sailing ship at night, and it reminded me of an ancient Chinese myth I’ve heard of – that the night sky was a body of water that the stars drifted along. I added elements of eastern ships into my picture, and I’ve always been a big fan of the steampunk aesthetic, so I added various other sails and wings to it.

The clouds were mostly spray painted onto the canvas to give that misty effect. I was planning on painting the dark silhouettes of trees and mountains in the foreground, but I’m not entirely sure yet.

I’m also not sure of what to name my recent work, so I thought it would be fun to see what titles you readers would come up with, so…

…what title should I give my painting?

I’d appreciate any feedback and as always, thanks for reading!

 

Posted on March 4, 2013, in Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’d leave the background cloudy, to be honest – Or, if you do go with mountains, putting some warm light on them (like maybe a cottage with a fire outside, or a Sky-light house (Airships would need them, i think) would be cool.

    As for the name, come up with a name for the ship and simply call it that.

    ‘Flight of the HMS. Aeronautica.’ or, whatever you call it.

Your opinion matters!

