Venturing the Skies


Here it is – my finished painting for the exhibition!! I used another camera to take more photos of my work so I hope the picture quality is much better now. For a closer look, feel free to click on the below image…

Ship 2

I haven’t made as many changes as I thought I would. I decided to try to make the details a little finer on the ship’s sails and masts, and then proceeded to add some trees in the foreground, hidden partially by more clouds and mist. I wanted to do more, but I felt that the painting was complete and if I did attempt to add to it, it may spoil the painting. I couldn’t explain how I knew when the painting was finished – it was just a feeling; it felt right.

After a long think, I eventually chose to name the work, “Venturing the Skies”, because I wanted a title that conveyed the excitement of travelling and discovering new places.

Ship 1

Venturing the Skies

Also, on a completely unrelated note, I dressed up for National Book Day as the Mad Hatter which was a lot of fun! To my surprise and delight I even won a trophy for the best costume in the school, and to celebrate, I’ve posted a picture of my costume on this post (and, in fact, the first picture of myself on this blog). I’m not a very photogenic person and I am fairly shy, but since I’m dressed as the Mad Hatter I guess I don’t have to worry too much about being photogenic…

madhatter - Copy madhatter

Posted on March 14, 2013, in Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I love that painting! It’s really so good 🙂 best wishes 🙂

  2. Heyo Daniel, it’s Tahti – congratulations in regards to prize-winning! 😀 Pleased for you, you deserved it though. Love the costume.
    Also in particular love this painting. It is evocative of various far-fetched dreams of other worlds I have experienced… wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Thanks! It’s funny to think that the costume is just a few tea bags, a hat and a suit jacket thrown onto my everyday clothes. 🙂 I’m really glad that you enjoyed the painting! Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Brilliant Daniel! I love the picture….Are you selling any yet? The dress up is awesome you deserved a prize.

    • Thanks! It’s always nice to know my paintings are brilliant! 🙂
      The paintings at the exhibition might get sold, but I’m still not selling any just yet. I have tried reproducing some of my bookmarks onto photo-paper and I may sell those, but nothing’s for certain at the moment. (And I’m glad you liked the outfit!) 🙂

  4. “It’s a bird, it’s a plane”…no, it not…”It’s Art Frog’s wonderful ‘ship in the sky’.” Like it…nice painting.

Your opinion matters!

