A Holiday in Another Place


As you may (or may not) be aware, I’ve spend a week in England recently. A few days after I returned I felt ill, but now I feel well enough to type on my blog. Anyhow, as I was on holiday, I was allowed to use my parent’s camera (which was much better than my tiny camera with it’s blurry photos and short battery life). Armed with such a camera, I took the opportunity to take some photographs of the places I’ve been.

This is an art blog, so you’re probably wondering what relevance my holiday pictures have…

Well, when I was in England, I visited Crosby Beach, which happens to be the location of Antony Gormley’s artwork “Another Place”.

Another Place

Cast iron figures stand on the beach, looking out to sea. They are distributed across 2 miles of Crosby beach, being both hidden and revealed by the tides, depending on the time. The statues are iron copies of Antony Gormley’s own body.

Also, I dared to go on the Big One, which is a roller-coaster at Blackpool’s Pleasure Beach. When it was first built, it was the tallest and steepest roller coaster in the world. I hope this photo gives you an idea on just how high it is:

rollercoaster big one

To summarize the rest of my holiday; I said hello to the indigenous wildlife, slept in a caravan at a holiday resort, gambled half my loose change in their arcade centre (and lost!) and I bought a top hat. Here’s some pictures I took of the local wildlife:

Birds on beach Dove

swanDuck

Posted on July 15, 2013, in Announcement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m sure your mother would tell you to stay out of arcades – they are there to take your money! Nice you came to England.

Your opinion matters!

