The 100th Post


I’ve just finished moving into Cork now and have now got wifi access so I can finally post this post!

I thought that, since I’m beginning a new art course, I’d look at the evolution of my artwork on this blog from the beginning of its creation up until now.

 


 

My very first post was about a stencil I made of the local church, which I sponged watercolour paints onto. The finishing touches were painted by hand without the stencil.

I continued to use watercolours, using scraps of card to make bookmarks that I used to practice and improve my skills…

 


 

Below are a few of these bookmarks I created with watercolours:


 

When I was more confident in my skills, I started painting with acrylics on small canvas:

 


 

During the Leaving Cert. Exam years, when I had a break from studying I started to doodle. These doodles quickly turned into drawings, and they resulted in a series of A4 pencil drawings.


From one of those pencil drawings came the idea for a mechanical creature that has stuck with me up to the present day – Tweedles. I focuses mainly on them and, virtually obsessed with them, made a lot of artwork that featured Tweedles.

They were the main subject for my PLC course artwork as I converted them from pencil to print, from print to painting and even began to make physical life-sized Tweedle sculptures:

 


 

Although I do intend to keep making Tweedle-orientated artwork, I think during my 4 year Fine Art course at Crawford I will experiment with new ideas and techniques, moving away from Tweedles a bit to explore new themes.

I’d like to thank everyone who’s viewed, commented, followed or liked anything on this blog as we celebrate 100 posts.

Keeping this blog has allowed me to keep track of my artwork and its progress, and all the support I’ve had from you guys has been very beneficial in my creative process, and has helped me understand my own artwork from new perspectives.

Thank you very much for reading!

Posted on September 14, 2014, in Announcement, Craft, Experimental, Painting, Printmaking, Sketch/Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the 100 posts!

    I love the tweedles and the frogs. At the same time there’s a big world out there to explore…
    Have fun at art college!

  2. I really love those bookmarks! Glad you are back with us in cyberspace. ; )

Your opinion matters!

