Pocket-sized Paintings


You might have seen photocopies of these paintings from my last post, stuck into my sketchbook. In these paintings, I’ve tried to further develop my painting skills on a small scale. The canvases used for these paintings are approximately 10 x 10 cm, with a depth of 2.5 cm. Below is my very first self portrait using acrylics, loosely inspired by Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Portrait of Dorian Gray’. Following that painting is a small scene that takes inspiration from a German legend about a man called Faust who sold his soul.

I may be good at landscapes and abstract paintings on such a size, but I haven’t had much practice with portraiture and figurative drawing until now. I’d love to know what you think of my recent paintings. Any comments or advice would be greatly appreciated, and thanks for reading!

Posted on January 16, 2015, in Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your opinion matters!

